Residency DeadlinesA directory for writers

Free and funded

Programs whose official page states no program fee. Funded = a stipend or award amount is stated. Pay-to-attend and unclear-cost programs are excluded. Application fees may still apply.

Free and funded (17)

Nov 110 days left

Studios at MASS MoCA (Jul-Dec 2027 residencies) Closes soon

Application fee none · Program fee Varies: fully funded fellowships · Stipend Family Fellowship includes $600 stipend
Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Nov 110 days left

Theodore B. Olson Memorial Fellowship (Write On, Door County WI) Closes soon

Application fee $40 · Program fee not stated · Stipend $700
Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Nov 110 days left

Woodland Pattern Milwaukee Emerging Poet Fellowship - Practice Fellowship (Milwaukee) Closes soon

Application fee not stated · Program fee n/a · Stipend not stated
Eligibility: Milwaukee poets aged 20-35 who are not in an MFA/PhD program · Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Nov 110 days left

Woodland Pattern Milwaukee Emerging Poet Fellowship - Project Fellowship (Milwaukee) Closes soon

Application fee not stated · Program fee n/a · Stipend $1,500 project budget
Eligibility: Milwaukee poets aged 20-35 who are not in an MFA/PhD program · Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Nov 1524 days left

Rome Prize in Literature (American Academy in Rome)

Application fee $50 if by Nov 1 · Program fee not stated · Stipend $16,000 half-term / $30,000 full-term
Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Nov 1928 days left

"Miss Sarah" Fellowship for Black Women Writers 2027 (NC)

Application fee none · Program fee none · Stipend $1,000 stipend
Source evidence recorded, checked 2026-10-14
Dec 645 days left

Saltonstall Foundation Juried Residencies 2027 (Ithaca NY)

Application fee none · Program fee none · Stipend $100/week
Eligibility: Poetry and fiction accepted; no creative nonfiction or screenwriting for 2027 · Source conflict — read listing notes before applying · Source evidence recorded, checked 2026-10-14
Dec 1554 days left

Lorine Niedecker Writing Fellowship 2027

Application fee $40 · Program fee not stated · Stipend $1,000
Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Jan 11202781 days left

Arthurdale Writers Residency (WV)

Application fee not stated · Program fee not stated · Stipend $250
Eligibility: Appalachian emerging writers with no published book · Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Jan 11202781 days left

James Merrill House Writer-in-Residence 2027-28 (Stonington CT)

Application fee $30 · Program fee not stated · Stipend $1,100 per month, prorated
Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Jan 15202785 days left

VCCA Alonzo Davis Fellowship (Fall 2027)

Application fee $30 · Program fee none · Stipend $500 honorarium
Source evidence recorded, checked 2026-10-14
Jan 15202785 days left

VCCA Marian Treger Fellowship for Enduring Creativity (Fall 2027)

Application fee $30 · Program fee not stated · Stipend $400
Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Jan 15202785 days left

VCCA Sara Pennypacker Fellowship (Children's Literature)

Application fee $30 · Program fee none · Stipend $500
Source evidence recorded, checked 2026-10-15
Feb 12027102 days left

Philip Roth Residence in Creative Writing (Bucknell)

Application fee not stated · Program fee not stated · Stipend $5,000
Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Feb 152027116 days left

Edward Albee Foundation Summer/Fall 2027 Residency (NY)

Application fee none · Program fee none · Stipend $2,500 for domestic Fellows
Source evidence recorded, checked 2026-10-14
Mar 12027130 days left

Kimmel Harding Nelson Center Residency (Session 2, Nebraska City NE)

Application fee $35 nonrefundable · Program fee not stated · Stipend $175/week food stipend
Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Mar 72027136 days left

Great Smoky Mountains National Park Artist-in-Residence Program (TN/NC)

Application fee not stated · Program fee none · Stipend none
Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending

Free to attend, no stated stipend amount (5)

Dec 140 days left

Bogliasco Foundation Fellowship - Fall 2027

Application fee $30, then $45 · Program fee none · Stipend none
Eligibility: Confirm writers are eligible on the program page before applying · Source evidence recorded, checked 2026-10-14
Jan 15202785 days left

VCCA Steven Petrow and Julie Petrow-Cohen LGBTQ+ Fellowship (Fall 2027)

Application fee $30 · Program fee none · Stipend not stated
Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Feb 102027111 days left

MacDowell Fellowship (Fall 2027/Winter 2028)

Application fee not stated · Program fee none · Stipend see listing
Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending
Mar 112027140 days left

Bogliasco Foundation Fellowship - Spring 2028

Application fee $30, then $45 · Program fee none · Stipend none
Eligibility: Confirm writers are eligible on the program page before applying · Source evidence recorded, checked 2026-10-14
Mar 152027144 days left

Valles Caldera National Preserve Artist-in-Residence 2027 (NM)

Application fee not stated · Program fee none · Stipend not stated
Checked 2026-10-14, four-quote evidence pending